Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship Applications Now Available

October 1, 2019

Applications are being accepted for the tenth annual Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship. There is one $2,000 scholarship and one $1,000 scholarship being awarded this year.

In 2006, the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association along with family, friends, and colleagues established this scholarship fund in memory of Marge, one of the area’s first nurse practitioners. The scholarship is a collaborative initiative between the 1889 Foundation and Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association.

Marge is fondly remembered by the medical community as well as her patients. She was a nurse practitioner of great compassion and a woman of courage. Before her untimely death she had built a thriving rural practice, and – having beaten cancer once – she volunteered to take the first trial of a breast cancer vaccine. During her career Marge worked at both Conemaugh Memorial and Lee Medical Centers and she lectured at Penn State University and Mount Aloysius College. The local Nurse Practitioner group continues to honor Marge’s memory by keeping this scholarship going in her name.

Individuals wishing to apply for the scholarship should be a student in an accredited Nurse Practitioner program, with a GPA of at least 3.2 and be a resident of Bedford, Cambria, Indiana, or Somerset County. This scholarship is not only focused on acknowledging an outstanding nurse practitioner student, but also on encouraging our young talent to use their skills locally. The scholarship recipient should show a strong interest in seeking employment as a nurse practitioner in the Laurel Highlands region.

For the guidelines and application please contact Kim Garman, President of the Laurel Highlands Nurse Practitioner Association at or call (814) 659-1964. The deadline for submission is October 31, 2019.

Those interested in contributing to the Marjorie Farabaugh Nurse Practitioner Student Scholarship Fund should contact the 1889 Foundation at 814-532-0100 or via email at