Conemaugh Health System Earns State Recognition for Organ, Tissue, and Eye Donation Awareness Initiatives

January 26, 2017

Conemaugh Health System participated in 2016 HAP Donate Life Hospital Challenge for the fourth year during 2016. The Hospital and Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania (HAP) hosts the challenge which encourages Pennsylvania hospitals to increase the number of organ, tissue, and eye donors, as well as raise donation awareness within their hospitals and throughout their communities.

Nearly 100 hospitals and health systems across the state participated in the challenge, which ran from April 1 through August 31, 2016. Awareness and designation activities were captured on score cards, and participating hospitals competed to achieve platinum, gold, silver, and bronze level recognitions for their efforts. An awards ceremony was hosted at the Center for Organ Recovery & Education (CORE) corporate office in Pittsburgh in December 2016.

Conemaugh Health System, as a whole, captured third place in western Pennsylvania with Platinum recognition. Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center earned second place for all hospitals in western Pennsylvania. Conemaugh Memorial and Nason Hospital both earned Platinum recognition for their efforts. Conemaugh Meyersdale Medical Center earned Gold recognition.

More than 122,000 men, women, and children in the United States are waiting for a life-saving organ transplant. This includes more than 8,500 individuals just in Pennsylvania. One Pennsylvanian dies every 18 hours waiting for an organ transplant.

To learn more about organ, tissue, and eye donation, or to register to become a donor, visit


(L-R): Michelle Buttry, Chief Nursing Officer, Nason Hospital; Barbara Ritchey, Administrative Assistant, Nason Hospital; Jill Dillman-Stull, Flight Nurse and Cornea Recipient, Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center; Pam Swansboro, Director of Nursing, Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center; Tim Harclerode, Chief Executive Officer, Nason Hospital; Denise Shesko, Director of Nursing, Conemaugh Meyersdale Medical Center; and Heather Smith, President, Conemaugh Meyersdale Medical Center.