Conemaugh Health System Celebrates Cultural & Ethnic Diversity as Olympic Games Begin in Tokyo

July 23, 2021

With the 2020 Olympic Games Opening Ceremonies and Parade of Nations beginning today in Tokyo, Japan, Conemaugh Health System is celebrating the vibrant cultural and ethnic diversity represented throughout the health system and encouraging providers and personnel to actively support their native country’s Olympic athletes.

"As one of the largest and most diverse employers in western Pennsylvania, we are proud that physicians and personnel from all over the world have made this community their home," said William E. Caldwell, Market President, Conemaugh Health System. "The diverse perspectives represented within our health system allow us to bring the best and brightest minds together to tackle complex problems in healthcare, innovate new solutions, train future medical professionals, and deliver high-quality patient care."

International flags will be displayed in Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center’s atrium and instrumental versions of each national anthem will play throughout the Olympics to represent the native countries of providers practicing within the health system. Additionally, health system personnel can share their pride with flag stickers on their identification badges. Crossroads Café at the hospital’s main campus will serve a variety of international menu items throughout the Olympics. The main campus will also host an international dance performance in the atrium on July 30 at noon featuring the Kulani Kids West African dance and drum group, as well as a Bollywood dancer.

Conemaugh Health System providers and personnel represent nearly 60 countries:

  • 26 countries from Asia including Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam.
  • 8 countries from Africa including Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, and Uganda.
  • 12 countries from Europe including Albania, Belarus, Germany, Greece, Italy, Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Spain, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.
  • 9 countries from North America including Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, St. Kitts and Nevis, the United States of America, and the U.S. Territory of Guam.
  • 3 countries from South America including Brazil, Guyana, and Trinidad and Tobago.