Area Physician to Chair American College of Radiology’s National Accreditation Program

May 20, 2015

The American College of Radiology (ACR) has appointed Anthony J. Scuderi, M.D., chairman of its Accreditation Program. In addition, Dr. Scuderi will continue to chair the ACR’s MRI accreditation program for another year. 

“It’s an honor and pleasure working with the ACR whose staff is dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of quality and safety in diagnostic imaging,” says Dr. Scuderi. “Since 1987, the ACR has accredited more than 35,000 facilities in ten imaging modalities.” 

The ACR offers accreditation programs in CT, MRI, breast MRI, nuclear medicine and PET as mandated under the Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act (MIPPA) as well as for modalities mandated under the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA). 

The purpose of the accreditation program is to set quality standards for practices and help them continuously improve the quality of care they provide to their patients. Accreditation is mandated by law. ACR accreditation provides an objective, peer reviewed assessment of facilities through evaluation of personnel qualifications, equipment requirements, quality assurance and quality control procedures, and evaluation of clinical and phantom image quality.

Dr. Scuderi, a member of the Conemaugh Memorial Medical staff, serves as Co-Medical Director of Conemaugh Advanced Imaging with Dr. Howard Forman. Dr. Scuderi has served since 1999 as a clinical MRI reviewer for the ACR. 

Conemaugh Advanced Imaging is accredited by the ACR in CT and all modalities of MRI, including cardiac and breast MR imaging. Conemaugh Advanced Imaging has been recognized as a Diagnostic Imaging Center of Excellence (DICOE), one of only 19 sites in the nation to have achieved this recognition and the 1st in the state of Pennsylvania.

For More Information, Please Contact:
Amy Bradley, Director of Public Affairs
Phone: (814) 534-3121