Area Physician Receives National Recognition

April 26, 2016

Dr. Jeanne Spencer, Director of Conemaugh Memorial’s Family Medicine Residency Program, has received the Gold Program Director Recognition award from the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors (AFMRD).  The gold award, the AFMRD’s highest recognition, was presented recently at the AFMRD’s annual business meeting early this month in Kansas City, Missouri.

The award recognizes program directors for continuous learning and improvement through scholarly activity; peer and professional development and recognition; and commitment and service to the specialty and to medical education.

Conemaugh Health System's Family Medicine Residency Program offers inpatient and outpatient experience that prepares residents for careers in primary care or additional specialty training. The dually accredited program creates the foundation for residents to obtain certification from the American Osteopathic Board of Family Practice and American Board of Family Medicine

Dr. Spencer is board certified in Family Practice. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians, the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine and a graduate of the National Institute of Program Director Development. Dr. Spencer is also an AAHIVM HIV specialist.

About Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center
Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center (MMC), a Duke LifePoint hospital, is the flagship hospital of the Conemaugh Health System. A regional referral hospital known for clinical excellence, Conemaugh Memorial is the most technologically sophisticated hospital between Pittsburgh and Hershey and is home to the highest level of care designations for Neonatal Care (Level 3) and Trauma Care (Level 1). Conemaugh Memorial was recently recognized by the American Heart Association with the Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award.  Conemaugh Memorial is proudly committed to being a teaching hospital including seven medical residency programs and a School of Nursing.