About - Hospitals - Programs and Services - Outpatient - Locations - Giving
What is a Level One Trauma Center?
Home > Services > Trauma > What is a Level One Trauma Center?

Trauma centers range from the highest level designation, Level One, to the lowest, Level Four. Conemaugh Memorial has maintained the highest level of commitment since 2002.

Level One
Required to have immediately available all the resources to stabilize and definitively treat even the most complex traumatic injuries. Transfer of patients occurs only on rare occasions when an extremely specialized service is required, but this is rare. An extensive process improvement program to ensure the highest quality is required as well as to continuously monitor the process of accessing and delivering the highest quality patient care.

Additional requirements for Level One certification:

  • Prove 24-hour staff readiness
  • Participate in research programs to ensure that the latest treatment and care methods are provided
  • Provide ongoing educational opportunities for every member of the trauma team
  • Support a Surgical Residency program, another way in which team members stay current with the latest treatment methods
  • Treat more than 750 trauma patients each year

A Level One Trauma Center provides the highest level of trauma care to this group of patients. Seriously injured patients have an increased survival rate of 25% in comparison to those not treated at a Level One center.

Level Two
Typically have resources to stabilize and treat most patients but will have to transfer many for more in depth or specialized care.

Levels Three & Four
Typically have sufficient resources to stabilize the patient and transfer to a higher level center.